So You Received an OFFER OF REPRESENTATION!

“Kermit flail gif* You did it! An agent wants to represent your work! *Carlton dancing gif* You’ve spoken to him or her and it seems like a match. And now you’re about to enter the frenetic, chaotic, incredibly good but unexpectedly stressful period where you give agents the time to throw their hats in the ring.

Note: ALWAYS give other agents time to consider you. At least a week, generally two. Even if it’s a dream agent. You never know if that relationship will ultimately sour–don’t burn bridges. You also might get an offer from an agent you’re more compatible with and it’s always best to be professional.

Okay, so you have to contact agents—what in the world do you say? First, you’re going to contact anyone who has requested your full. Here’s what I said:

Subject: OFFER OF REPRESENTATION (Title) (Category) (Genre)

Dear (Agent’s name),

I am writing to let you know that I have received an offer of representation for my (Category), (Title), which I submitted to you in (month). I am reattaching the full manuscript for your convenience below. Do this, it’s easier on everyone

I am looking to close out all pending submissions by the end of business on (date). If you are interested in the manuscript, please let me know before then. I’d be thrilled to discuss it with you. If you need more time, please do let me know.

I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again for your consideration.

Make changes accordingly if they have a partial. If you have queried them and they have not yet said no: send this letter without the manuscript attached. You never know who may have time to jump right to the full and offer rep. I had at least one offer of rep from someone where my query had gotten lost in the shuffle.

Best of luck and congratulations! This is a major hurdle and you should celebrate your success! *Giant wineglass cheers*

Leave a Reply

