Looking for a 2020 #DVPit Mentee

A new decade, a new book deal, and I’d like to mentor someone again. If you’re interested, I hope you’ll read below and fill out the form at the bottom!

A little about me: I signed with Lauren Abramo of DG&B through the first DVPit, so this event has a special place in my heart. I was a Pitch Wars mentor and I’ve mentored four writers who are all agented now. Three have either book deals or books in print (and one forthcoming adaptation!). The last I hope will have great news soon!

What I can offer: I’m volunteering to do an edit letter, line-edits, then a last polishing round (if there’s time) for the right manuscript leading into April 2020’s DVPit. I’ll also work with you on your Twitter pitches and boost you. My apologies for not posting this in January, but I was swamped with life and deadlines.

Here’s what I’m looking for:

  • Someone who is a marginalized person (as defined by #DVPit). Preference goes to a POC and/or someone writing #ownvoices
  • Someone willing to do the work from mid February-until DVPit in April. I’ve guided my mentees through major overhauls, shifts/eliminations of POV, total changes in story-line, and smaller, finessing points of character arcs and plot points. I want someone who wants to grow as a writer, and can meet deadlines
  • Someone who has a young adult or adult manuscript and at least one critique partner. I’m not much use for middle grade.

Areas of interest: I’m best with contemporary, although light fantasy or very light sci-fi is fine. I like and write rom-coms. But I’m pretty open so long as it’s mostly contemp–surprise me!

I’m not your person for anything set in space, horror, or spy thrillers. I just don’t read enough in those categories to be of service. Same is also true for vampires, robots, flowery literary fiction, and pirates.

So that’s it. I’ll leave this open through February 14. If I’m interested in seeing more I’ll email you for a partial or full sometime before February 21. Let me know if you have any questions. I look forward to hearing from you!

DISCLAIMER: I won’t steal your ideas, but there’s a slim chance I’m working on something similar. If I am, I’ll tell you

Leave a comment